What Are a Tenants Rights in California?

What Are a Tenants Rights in California?

Landlord Tenant Law California


- The application form fee cannot be greater than $37.57 Furthermore, the owner can not charge you more for that application fee than their out of pocket costs.

- It is illegal for that landlord to ask you questions regarding your race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, ancestry, familial status, disability, your actual age, your condition, or whether you have persons below the age of 18 residing in all your family members.

Landlord Tenant Law California

- When the landlord obtains your credit track record, they need to give you a copy than it in the event you request it.

Unlawful Discrimination

- A landlord cannot will not rent to some tenant on a foundation of discrimination, discriminate against them or harass them. It's illegal under California law to get a landlord to discriminate against or harass a tenant for the following reasons: race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth or health conditions linked to them, as well as gender and thought of gender), sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, ancestry, familial status, source of income, disability, or even a persons medical or mental condition.

- It's illegal for landlords to refuse to rent to families with children below the age of 18, unless it is senior-citizen housing.

- It's illegal for any landlord to won't rent with a tenant on such basis as the tenant having a service animal. A rental that will not allow pets, will not pertain to service animals.

Shared Utility Meters

- A landlord must disclose before a tenant signs a rental agreement if any utility meters are shared. In addition, the owner must meet a partnership with the tenant on how the utility costs will be shared.


- To book properties constructed before 1978, the owner must disclose any known existence of lead based paint about the premises.

- In case a rental property will probably be treated by pesticides, the landlord must provide written notice to the tenant of pesticide application and what pesticide(s) will probably be used. This written notice has to be given just before application.

- The landlord must disclose with a prospective tenant, in case a prior tenant died in the premises in the last Three years. This disclosure must be made prior to the landlord accepting any application fees or rents.

Security Deposit

- A lease or rental agreement cannot say that the protection deposit is non-refundable. Under California law, all security deposits are refundable unless the owner properly uses the deposit for lawful purpose like unpaid rent or harm to the house.

- For unfurnished rentals, a landlord cannot charge a lot more than 2 months rent for any security deposit., or 2 1/2 months rent in the event the tenant features a water bed.

- For furnished rentals, a landlord cannot charge a lot more than A few months rent for any security deposit, or 3 1/2 months rent in the event the tenant features a water bed.

Payment of rent

The owner cannot demand that rent payments be produced in cash unless a cheque the tenant gave them was dishonored by the bank in the past 90 days. When the landlord will probably demand cash payment, they must give you the tenant written notice using a copy from the dishonored check attached. The landlord is only able to require cash payment for several months after the dishonored check. The written notice should be given 1 month before the alternation in payment method. If you are paying your rent in cash, your landlord must offer you a written receipt should you request one.

Rent Increases

- Rent can't be raised throughout the term of the lease unless the lease specifies that rent increases are allowed.

- The landlord must give give notice of rent increase having a minimum of Thirty days written notice. In some cases, Sixty days written notice must be provided.

When can a landlord enter a rental unit

- California law only allows a landlord to penetrate a rental unit for an additional reasons:

- In an emergency.

- When a tenant has moved out or abandoned the rental unit, to produce necessary or agreed upon repairs or improvements.

- To exhibit the rental unit to prospective tenants, buyers, lenders or contractors in order to perform an end of tenancy inspection.

- If a order from the court permits the landlord to go in.

- If your tenant has a water bed, to examine installing water bed and periodically to guarantee the installation meets the laws requirements.

Notice requirement of a landlord to penetrate accommodations unit

- The landlord must provide the tenant reasonable advance notice written before entering the machine. The notice must state the date, some time and purpose of entry. The owner can enter only during normal business hours. (Regulations requires Twenty four hours written notice to become sufficient. When the notice will be mailed, time must be allowed for that notice to process through the mail.)

- The owner does not have to give notice to respond to an emergency.

- The landlord doesn't need to provide notice when the tenant has moved out or abandoned the apartment.

- If the tenant occurs, the tenant can provide oral permission for the landlord to go in the premises in the event the tenant chooses to.


- California law necessitates that rental units meet certain requirements to be considered habitable. It is a landlords responsibility to make any needed repairs to keep the apartment habitable. The owner are only able to charge the tenant for repairs to keep the premises habitable if the tenant caused the damage. California habitability requirements are:

- Effective waterproofing and weather proofing from the roof and exterior walls. Door and windows must not be broken.

- Plumbing must work effectively. Plumbing has to be connected to a working sewage system. Plumbing will need to have working cold and warm water.

- If the apartment has gas utilities, gas has to be in proper and safe working condition.

- Building and grounds should be neat and sanitary, free from debris, trash, poisonous waste, vermin and rodents.

- Adequate trash receptacles has to be provided.

- Floors, stairways and railings has to be in safe condition.

- The home must have a working toilet, wash basin and bathtub or shower. The bathtub or shower and toilet has to be inside a private room with adequate ventilation.

- A kitchen having a sink that cannot be made from absorbent material for example wood.

- Each room should have either a window and / or a skylight, unless it's got mechanical ventilation.

- Main entry doors should have working deadbolt locks. Windows should have working locks.

- Multi-unit buildings will need to have working smoke detectors in each unit.

- The structure of the building must be in safe condition.

- The home must have safe and dealing heating.

- The electrical must be inside a safe condition. No faulty or exposed wiring.

Self help evictions

Landlords might not use illegal methods to evict a tenant. Illegal types of eviction are often called self-help evictions. A number of the things a landlord no longer can do are:

- Shut off or have switched off the tenants utilities.

- Lock the tenant out of the rental property. (In case a landlord illegally attempts to lock get you started of your property, call law enforcement.)

- Physically take away the tenant and / or their belongings. (If a landlord attempts to physically remove you and your belongings, call the police.)


- A landlord can evict a tenant having a 30 day written notice (a 60 day written notice is required). If the tenant includes a lease, then your landlord are only able to evict the tenant when the lease expires or if perhaps the tenant violates the lease. Usually failure to pay for rent is a violation with the lease.

- A landlord may serve a tenant having a 3 day notice when the tenant does not pay rent or violates their lease or rental agreement. Reasons a landlord can serve a 3 day notice are:

- The tenant fails to pay rent. This 3 day notice will probably be called a "3 day notice to pay for or quit" (The 3 day notice can give the tenant the possibility to cover days gone by due rent within 72 hours or why not be at the mercy of eviction.)

- The tenant violates the rental agreement or lease. (The 3 day notice will give the tenant the option to treat the violation or be subject to eviction.)

- The tenant is revealing the premises.

- The tenant is utilizing the premises with an criminality.

- The 3 day notice to pay for or quit, must state the landlords telephone number and address, amount that's owed, method of payment that will be accepted and hours that payment will probably be accepted.

Following your eviction notice

- If the tenant will not abide by the One month or 2 month notice by leaving, the owner may start the eviction process in court. If the tenant does not adhere to the remedies with the 3 day notice or move out, the landlord can begin the eviction process in the courtroom. The eviction process in court is named an unlawful detainer action. Unlawful detainer actions can take appropriate steps swiftly. In case a tenant desires to fight an unlawful detainer action, they only have 5 days from your date and services information to respond to the complaint. The tenant has lots of alternatives to reply to an unlawful detainer, according to what technique is appropriate. These responses are: response to an unlawful detainer, motion to quash, and demurrer. Answering an unlawful detainer can be complicated and it is best if your tenant are able to afford legal counsel. There is however help if a tenant decides to reply alone. But don't forget a tenant must move quickly. Some resources to acquire aid in fighting an unlawful detainer action are:

- Legal counsel that represents tenants. You'll find one in the phone book.

- What the law states library in the court.

- The ebook "California Tenants' Rights by Nolo Press.

- Local tenant rights groups.

- Many local court web sites have self-help articles. Furthermore most local court internet sites possess the forms to answer an unlawful detainer action online, together with instructions on how to fill them out.

Know your legal rights as a tenant. In case a landlord violates your rights, you are able to take action. Sometimes tenants rights organizations will help you. Sometimes it is possible to report habitablity complaints to building and safety. Sometimes your main option is to file a lawsuit your landlord in small claims court. The sources above can help you in case your landlord is violating your rights.

This free website was made using Yola.

No HTML skills required. Build your website in minutes.

Go to www.yola.com and sign up today!

Make a free website with Yola